
Kurukshetra University was founded on 11 January 1956 under the Kurukshetra University Act, 1956, a Haryana state university located on the southern bank of Brahm Sarovar, Kurukshetra. It is a separate, unaffiliated institution from NIT Kurukshetra, a distinct central institute in the same city; the two are frequently and wrongly conflated in ranking and admission content elsewhere.
The university's official NAAC page describes a current A++ grade, Fourth Cycle, though this page states no specific CGPA or validity date, since the source could not be independently confirmed through a direct check during this research. Its NIRF 2025 standing is reported at rank 35 in State Public University category and in the 101-150 band for University category by multiple sources, though the exact underlying score could not be independently confirmed against nirfindia.org during this research.
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Founded | 11 January 1956 (Kurukshetra University Act, 1956) |
| Type | State university, Haryana |
| NAAC | A+ recorded; university's own site describes a current A++/Fourth Cycle result that remains unconfirmed against an independent source |
| NIRF 2025 University | Reported band 101-150, not independently confirmed against nirfindia.org |
| NIRF 2025 State Public University | Reported rank 35, not independently confirmed against nirfindia.org |
| Campus | Southern bank of Brahm Sarovar, Kurukshetra |
| UG admission | CUET-UG for most programmes, from the current cycle |
| Distinct from | NIT Kurukshetra, a separate central institute in the same city |
Kurukshetra University's academic structure is reported across roughly 10 faculties, spanning around 49 departments and institutes, but this page does not state that structure as confirmed, since it could not be independently verified against a directly accessible official page during this research.
Admission for most undergraduate programmes runs through CUET-UG from the current cycle, alongside the university's own entrance-test route for select programmes administered through its IUMS portal. This page does not detail an exact postgraduate admission mechanism, since it could not be independently confirmed during this research.
| Route | Programmes |
|---|---|
| CUET-UG | Most undergraduate programmes |
| University's own entrance test, via IUMS portal | Select programmes |
For the 2026-27 cycle, reported undergraduate application deadlines, extended multiple times through mid to late June 2026, suggest the regular admission window has closed by this writing, with the process likely well into merit-list or counselling stages. This page does not state a specific current status as confirmed, since the university's own live admissions page could not be directly checked during this research.
Kurukshetra University's NIRF 2025 standing is reported at rank 35 in State Public University category and in the 101-150 band for University category by multiple converging sources, though the exact underlying score remains unconfirmed against nirfindia.org. Its NAAC status is recorded as A+ in this page's structured data, while the university's own site describes a current A++, Fourth Cycle result that remains unconfirmed against an independent source.
Kurukshetra University's campus is reported at roughly 473 acres on the southern bank of Brahm Sarovar, Kurukshetra, Haryana, though this specific acreage figure could not be independently confirmed against an official page during this research.
Operating continuously since 1956 under its own dedicated Haryana state Act
An A++ grade, Fourth Cycle, described on the university's own site, pending independent confirmation
Rank 35, per multiple converging secondary sources
The southern bank of Brahm Sarovar, Kurukshetra
CUET-UG adoption for most undergraduate programmes from the current cycle
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | State Public University | 2025 | #35 |
No independently verifiable, individually sourced notable alumni could be confirmed for this institution at the time of writing. This section is left out rather than populated with unconfirmed names.
8 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
| Course | Specialization | Duration | Total seats | Total fee | Avg package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | Hons | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | Honours (General) | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BCA (Bachelor of Computer Applications) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| M.Com (Master of Commerce) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
| MA (Master of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| MCA (Master of Computer Applications) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.