

Ashoka University is a private non-profit liberal arts and sciences university located in Rajiv Gandhi Education City, Rai, Sonipat, Haryana, approximately 50 km from central Delhi. Founded in 2014 through a collective philanthropic model, it admits undergraduates through the Ashoka Aptitude Assessment and interview, with a fully residential interdisciplinary curriculum. It placed in the NIRF 2025 University band 101-150 and Overall band 151-200. NAAC awarded Grade A in 2023.
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Established | 2014 |
| Type | Private non-profit deemed university |
| Lead founders | Sanjeev Bikhchandani, Ashish Dhawan, Pramath Raj Sinha |
| Location | Rajiv Gandhi Education City, Rai, Sonipat, Haryana 131029 |
| Campus area | Approximately 52 acres (25-acre main + 27-acre new campus) |
| Total students | Approximately 4,500 |
| Full-time faculty | Approximately 128 (plus visiting faculty) |
| NIRF 2025: University | Band 101-150 |
| NIRF 2025: Overall | Band 151-200 |
| NAAC | Grade A (2023) |
| UG admission | Ashoka Aptitude Assessment + On-the-Spot Essay |
| BA/BSc (Hons) total fee | Approximately Rs 52.97 lakh (4-year, with residence) |
| MA Economics total fee | Approximately Rs 14.74 lakh (2-year, with residence) |
| PhD fellowship | Rs 50,000/month + HRA (fully funded) |
| Placements 2025 | Avg Rs 11.6 LPA; highest Rs 35 LPA; 164 companies; 436+ offers |
| Official website | ashoka.edu.in |
| Programme | Level | Duration | Admission | Approx total fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BA (Hons) | UG | 3 or 4 years | Ashoka Aptitude Assessment + Essay | Rs 52.97 lakh (4-year, with residence) |
| BSc (Hons) | UG | 3 or 4 years | Ashoka Aptitude Assessment + Essay | Rs 52.97 lakh (4-year, with residence) |
| Young India Fellowship (MA Liberal Studies) | PG Diploma / MA | 1 year | Application + interview | Approximately 81% of cohort on partial or full scholarship |
| MA Economics | PG | 2 years | Entrance exam + interview | Rs 14.74 lakh total |
| MA English | PG | 2 years | Entrance exam + interview | Not separately disclosed |
| MA Biology | PG | 2 years | Entrance exam + interview | Not separately disclosed |
| MSc Life Sciences | PG | 2 years | Entrance exam + interview | Not separately disclosed |
| PhD (11 disciplines) | Doctoral | 4-6 years | Application + research proposal + interview | Nominal fee; fully funded (Rs 50,000/month + HRA) |
Disciplines available at UG: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, English, Environmental Studies, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Psychology, Sociology and Anthropology. UG intake numbers per discipline are not publicly disclosed.
Ashoka University was established in 2014 in Sonipat by over 200 founders drawn from Indian industry and civil society. The three lead founders are Sanjeev Bikhchandani (founder, Info Edge / Naukri.com), Ashish Dhawan (founder, ChrysCapital), and Pramath Raj Sinha (co-founder, Indian School of Business). The founding model treats the university as a collective philanthropic project, with founders contributing endowment in exchange for governance roles, rather than as a conventional promoter-owned institution.
The university operates across two adjacent campuses totalling approximately 52 acres. The original 25-acre main campus was designed by American firm Perkins Eastman. A second 27-acre campus, laid in 2021, added six academic buildings, ten residential buildings, and a sports field, roughly doubling physical capacity. Total student strength is approximately 4,500 across all programmes.
Ashoka follows a liberal arts and sciences curriculum. Undergraduates do not declare a major before their second year, and all degree plans include mandatory Foundation Courses covering critical thinking, Indian civilisations, mind and behaviour, and quantitative reasoning. Majors are available in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, English, History, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology, Philosophy, and Sociology and Anthropology. Doctoral programmes across eleven disciplines are fully funded with a monthly stipend of Rs 50,000 and HRA.
Fees for the four-year BA (Hons) or BSc (Hons) including on-campus residence are approximately Rs 52.97 lakh in total (Rs 12.29 lakh in year one for 2025 intake). The MA Economics programme costs approximately Rs 14.74 lakh over two years. To address affordability, the university has one of the larger need-based aid programmes among Indian private universities: approximately 47 per cent of undergraduates have received some financial assistance since the programme began. Students from families with annual income below Rs 8 lakh who receive an offer are eligible for a full tuition scholarship for the entire programme. An additional 150 merit scholarships covering up to 100 per cent of tuition are awarded annually.
The four-year BA/BSc (Hons) with Research requires 150 credits including Foundation Courses and 12 research credits in the final year. Students do not declare a major until year two, enabling cross-disciplinary exposure unusual in Indian higher education. The model is designed for students targeting doctoral study abroad or analytical careers in consulting, policy, and finance.
Approximately 47 per cent of undergraduates have received some university financial assistance. Students from families earning below Rs 8 lakh per annum are eligible for a full tuition waiver for the entire programme. Additionally, 150 merit scholarships covering up to 100 per cent of tuition are awarded annually. This makes the net cost potentially comparable to public university fees for qualifying students.
The 52-acre campus is approximately 50 km from central Delhi, reachable in under an hour. All undergraduates are expected to live on campus in air-conditioned twin-sharing rooms. Proximity to Delhi gives students access to internships and recruiting networks while maintaining the immersive residential academic environment.
The 2025 placement cycle saw 164 companies and 436+ offers, with consulting as the top function at 27.6 per cent of placements. Recruiters include McKinsey and Company, BCG, Bain and Company, Deutsche Bank, HSBC, Kotak Mahindra Bank, HUL, ITC, Gartner, and Fractal Analytics. Average CTC for the corporate sector was Rs 11.6 LPA and the highest was Rs 35 LPA.
The PhD across eleven disciplines carries a Teaching Assistant stipend of Rs 50,000 per month rising to Rs 55,000 on Senior Research Fellowship, plus HRA and a travel grant of up to Rs 2 lakh. This funding is comparable to IIT PhD fellowships and is rare among private universities. The university has placed PhD graduates at IITs, IIMs, and overseas research positions.
Honest caveat: Ashoka is among the highest-fee undergraduate destinations in India, with a four-year all-in cost near Rs 53 lakh for students in on-campus residence. Students in a middle-income band (family income between Rs 8 lakh and Rs 40 lakh) may receive only partial financial relief. The average placement CTC of Rs 11.6 LPA for 2025 is respectable but modest relative to the fee, and a significant share of each batch pursues postgraduate study rather than direct employment. Prospective students should model the net cost carefully after realistic aid estimates before committing.
Ashoka's institutional ranking also needs context. The university does not appear in the NIRF top 100 in either the University or Overall category for 2025, placing in the 101-150 and 151-200 bands respectively. The NAAC grade of A (not A+) was confirmed from documents on the official site; some third-party portals incorrectly list A+. Intake numbers per programme are not publicly disclosed, making it difficult to assess selectivity or batch size before applying.
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | University | 2025 | #101 |
All undergraduates are expected to live on campus. The university has five residential halls with air-conditioned twin-sharing rooms, each furnished with beds, wardrobes, study desks, and bookshelves. Facilities include 24-hour housekeeping, laundry, a gym, a salon, an infirmary, and CCTV coverage. The hostel fee for 2025-26 is approximately Rs 2,00,550 per academic year. Student activities include debate, music, theatre, photography, quizzing, and social enterprise clubs. The student newspaper and several independent publications have operated since the university's early years. The campus also runs a documentation centre and multiple dining outlets covering varied cuisine preferences.
5 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
| Course | Specialization | Duration | Total seats | Total fee | Avg package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Sc (Bachelor of Science) | — | 48 months | — | ₹52.97L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | — | 48 months | — | ₹52.97L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | Honours (General) | 48 months | — | ₹52.97L | — |
| M.Sc (Master of Science) | — | 24 months | — | ₹18L | — |
| MA (Master of Arts) | — | 24 months | — | ₹18L | — |
1-year placement history, latest data from 2025.
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.