
Great Lakes Institute of Management (GLIM) is a private business school founded in 2004 by Prof. Bala V. Balachandran, a faculty member at the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University. Located in Manamai, near Chennai, Tamil Nadu, on a 32-acre campus, it is the first Indian B-school to offer a 1-year full-time MBA (PGPM) approved by AICTE (approved 2008). GLIM holds Double Crown accreditation: AACSB (2023) and AMBA (2014). It is one of approximately 10 Indian B-schools with AACSB accreditation. In NIRF 2025 (Management category), the Chennai campus ranked 37th (score 58.05). It also operates a second campus in Gurugram, Haryana. Admission is through CAT, GMAT, or GRE scores.
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Established | 2004 |
| Type | Private Business School (Not-for-profit) |
| Location | Manamai, near Chennai, Tamil Nadu |
| NIRF Management 2025 (Chennai) | Rank 37, Score 58.05 |
| Accreditations | AACSB (2023), AMBA (2014), SAQS, NBA (PGDM), AICTE |
| Campus Area | 32 acres (Chennai campus) |
| PGPM Fee (2026-27 batch) | Rs 23.50 lakh (total, fully residential) |
| PGDM Fee (2026-28 batch) | Rs 22.50 lakh (total, fully residential) |
| Admission | CAT / GMAT / GRE + PI |
| Second Campus | Gurugram, Haryana |
| Website | greatlakes.edu.in |
| Programme | Duration | Intake | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| PGPM (1-year MBA) | 12 months, full-time residential | 308 (2025-26 cohort) | First AICTE-approved 1-year programme in India (2008); AMBA-covered |
| PGDM (2-year MBA) | 24 months, full-time residential | 348-369 per year | AMBA, NBA, and AICTE-approved |
| PGPM-Flex | Part-time executive | Not stated | AMBA-covered; for working professionals |
| PGXPM | Executive programme | Not stated | Senior executives; AMBA-covered |
| PGDM (Gurgaon campus) | 24 months | Separate intake | Same brand; NIRF #50 (2025 Gurgaon campus) |
PGPM batch profile typically includes 3-5 years of average work experience. PGDM batch includes fresh graduates and early-career professionals.
Dr. Bala V. Balachandran Merit Scholarship: Full tuition fee waiver awarded to exceptional PGPM candidates. Named for the founder. Recipients also receive CXO mentoring and priority access to GLIM's global alumni network. No separate application; identified during the admissions process.
Diversity and Merit Scholarships: 40 scholarships per PGPM cohort, each worth Rs 5 lakh (applied against tuition). A minimum of 30 per cent of scholarships are reserved for female candidates. No separate application; candidates are assessed during the regular admissions cycle.
AICTE TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver) Scheme: Up to 5 per cent of AICTE-approved intake. Merit-based; for candidates with parental income below Rs 8 lakh per year.
Government schemes: NSP (National Scholarship Portal, scholarships.gov.in) applicable for SC, ST, OBC, EWS, and minority candidates enrolled in AICTE-approved programmes.
Source: greatlakes.edu.in/admissions
| Framework | Category | Rank | Score | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Management | 37 | 58.05 | 2025 |
| NIRF | Management | 34 | 56.15 | 2024 |
| NIRF | Management | 31 | 56.62 | 2023 |
| NIRF | Management | 31 | 54.90 | 2022 |
All ranks are for the Chennai campus (NIRF code IR-M-N-16). The Gurgaon campus is separately ranked (#50 in 2025). Great Lakes Chennai maintained #31 in 2022 and 2023, improved to #34 in 2024, then moved to #37 in 2025 -- a slight regression from the 2024 position.
Source: nirfindia.org/Rankings/2025/, /2024/, /2023/, /2022/
The Chennai campus is located at Manamai, a coastal area near Chennai, on a 32-acre fully residential campus. All vegetarian meals are mandatory and included in the programme fee. The campus has hostel facilities, sports areas, a library, and computing labs. Students participate in national case competitions, B-school conclaves, and sector-specific clubs (Finance, Marketing, Operations, HR). GLIM's PGPM programme, given its 12-month duration, typically runs on a compressed academic calendar with industry visits and live project components built into the schedule.
GLIM Chennai offers two full-time residential programmes: the 1-year PGPM (flagship, approximately 308 seats per cohort) and the 2-year PGDM (approximately 348-369 seats). Both are AICTE-approved; the PGDM is additionally NBA-accredited. GLIM was founded as a not-for-profit institution and retains that structure. The campus is fully residential; vegetarian meals are mandatory. The founder, Prof. Balachandran, pioneered Management Accounting education in India and modelled GLIM on the Kellogg executive MBA format with an intense 12-month structure for working professionals seeking a career change.
Designed for professionals; 12-month intensive; PGPM Class of 2025 avg Rs 17.8 LPA, highest Rs 30.8 LPA, 100% placed
AACSB achieved 2023; AMBA since 2014; among approximately 10 Indian B-schools with AACSB; covers PGPM, PGDM, and executive programmes
Full tuition waiver for exceptional PGPM candidates; named for the Kellogg-trained founder; 40 Diversity and Merit Scholarships (Rs 5 lakh each) also available
Rs 22.5-23.5 lakh total for PGPM/PGDM (residential, all meals included); comparable IIMs charge Rs 25-32 lakh for similar quality tier
No private equity or promoter extracting returns; surplus reinvested into campus and faculty
Honest caveat: NAAC accreditation grade, CGPA, cycle, and validity dates are not published on the official greatlakes.edu.in accreditations page; aggregator-cited "A grade" cannot be independently verified. NIRF Management 2025 rank #37 refers to the Chennai campus only (IR-M-N-16 NIRF code); the Gurgaon campus is separately ranked at #50 in 2025. Placement reports for PGPM and PGDM are published separately and do not include median CTC or total companies count, limiting comparability with peer schools that do publish these figures. GLIM accepts CAT/GMAT/GRE scores; it does not conduct its own entrance test.
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Management | 2025 | #37 |
| NIRF | Management | 2024 | #34 |
| NIRF | Management | 2023 | #31 |
| NIRF | Management | 2022 | #31 |
7 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
| Course | Specialization | Duration | Total seats | Total fee | Avg package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M.Tech (Master of Technology) | Marketing & Finance | — | 10 | — | — |
| MBA (Master of Business Administration) | — | — | — | — | — |
| PGCM (Post Graduate Certificate in Management) | — | — | 180 | — | — |
| PGCM (Post Graduate Certificate in Management) | Retail Management | — | 120 | — | — |
| PGDM (Post Graduate Diploma in Management) | Marketing | — | 60 | — | — |
| PGDM (Post Graduate Diploma in Management) | — | — | 5240 | — | — |
| PGDM (Post Graduate Diploma in Management) | Financial Management | — | 60 | — | — |
1-year placement history, latest data from 2025.
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.