Indian Institute of Management Tiruchirappalli (IIM Trichy) is an Institute of National Importance established on January 4, 2011, under India's Ministry of Education. Located on a 172-acre campus on the Tiruchirappalli-Pudukkottai Highway in Tamil Nadu, it is the 11th IIM in India. It holds AMBA accreditation (2022) and AACSB membership (2023). In NIRF 2025, IIM Trichy ranked 16th in the Management category (score 64.95), a significant recovery from rank 27 (score 57.67) in 2024. The institute's NIRF rank followed a declining trend from 18 (2022) to 22 (2023) to 27 (2024) before the 2025 rebound. IIMs are not assessed under NAAC.
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Established | 2011 |
| Location | Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu |
| Campus | 172 acres |
| Type | Institute of National Importance (Central Government) |
| Flagship Programme | PGPM (MBA), 2-year full-time |
| Programme Fee (2026-28) | Rs 19.5 lakh (total) |
| NIRF Management 2025 | Rank 16, Score 64.95 |
| NIRF Management 2024 | Rank 27, Score 57.67 |
| NIRF Management 2023 | Rank 22, Score 60.83 |
| NIRF Management 2022 | Rank 18, Score 61.88 |
| Accreditation | AMBA (2022), AACSB membership (2023) |
| NAAC | Not applicable (IIM Act) |
| Avg CTC (2024-25) | Rs 19.27 LPA (PGPM) |
| Highest CTC (2024-25) | Rs 43.94 LPA (PGPM) |
| Programme | Duration | Mode | Intake (2024-26 batch) |
|---|---|---|---|
| PGPM (MBA) | 2 years | Full-time residential | 412 |
| PGPM-HR (MBA-HR) | 2 years | Full-time residential | 50 |
| PGPBM (Executive MBA) | Part-time | Weekend, Chennai campus | Not disclosed |
| Ph.D (FPM) | Full-time | Residential | Not disclosed |
| Executive Ph.D | Part-time | Non-residential | Not disclosed |
IIM Trichy does not publish a standalone merit scholarship for the PGPM on its official website. Students from SC, ST, OBC, EWS, minority, and Differently-Abled Persons (DAP) categories may access government scholarship schemes through the National Scholarship Portal (scholarships.gov.in), including the Central Sector Scholarship for SC/ST students, PM Yasasvi for OBC/EBC/DNT students, and merit-cum-means scholarships for minority communities. PhD (FPM) scholars receive an institute stipend and full fee waiver. Educational loans are available through tie-ups with scheduled banks under the IBA model education loan scheme.
| Framework | Category | Rank | Score | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Management | 16 | 64.95 | 2025 |
| NIRF | Management | 27 | 57.67 | 2024 |
| NIRF | Management | 22 | 60.83 | 2023 |
| NIRF | Management | 18 | 61.88 | 2022 |
| NAAC | -- | Not applicable | -- | -- |
IIM Trichy's NIRF Management trajectory: rank 18 (2022), 22 (2023), 27 (2024), then a sharp rebound to 16 (2025) with a score jump from 57.67 to 64.95. The 2025 improvement was driven by gains in Teaching-Learning-Resources (TLR) and Research and Professional Practice (RPC) sub-scores. The prior decline across 2022-2024 coincided with batch size growth; the 2025 rebound occurred alongside strong placement outcomes and increased research output.
Sources: nirfindia.org/Rankings/2025/ManagementRanking.html, /2024/ManagementRanking.html, /2023/ManagementRanking.html, /2022/ManagementRanking.html
IIM Trichy operates from a 172-acre campus on the Tiruchirappalli-Pudukkottai Highway, approximately 11 to 12 km from Tiruchirappalli International Airport. The campus has fully air-conditioned smart classrooms with interactive audio-visual technology, a Learning Resource Centre, dedicated finance and behavioural labs, sports facilities, and residential hostels. The Chennai campus hosts the PGPBM executive programme for working professionals. Student activities include case competitions, management conclaves such as DAKSHA, and industry interaction programmes. The institute has 60 full-time faculty members drawn from institutions across India and abroad.
Admissions to the flagship PGPM (MBA) programme are based on CAT scores, personal interview, work experience, academic diversity, and gender diversity, with a General category CAT cutoff of 95.25 percentile for shortlisting. The 2024-26 batch enrolled 412 PGPM and 50 PGPM-HR students. The total programme fee for the 2026-28 PGPM and PGPM-HR batch is Rs 19.5 lakh (approximately Rs 9.75 lakh per year), excluding a refundable caution deposit and mess advance.
Jumped from rank 27 (2024) to rank 16 (2025) in Management, the second largest single-year improvement among all IIMs in 2025
AMBA accreditation (2022) and AACSB membership (2023) place it among a small group of Indian B-schools with both recognitions
150+ companies participated in the 2024-25 placement season across IT, consulting, finance, operations, and FMCG sectors
PGPM-HR is one of few IIM programmes dedicated to human resources management, with its own placement process
SC, ST, OBC, EWS, minority, and DAP students can access multiple central government scholarship schemes through the NSP
Honest caveat: IIM Trichy does not publish an overall placement percentage in its official press releases, making it impossible to verify what share of the batch received offers. The institute's NIRF rank declined three consecutive years from 18 (2022) to 27 (2024) before the 2025 rebound to 16; candidates should monitor whether this improvement is sustained. IIMs are not assessed under NAAC, which may matter for candidates or employers who use that criterion. The PGPM batch has grown substantially and larger batch sizes can affect placement outcomes. Campus is approximately 12 km from Tiruchirappalli city centre, which limits access to urban infrastructure.
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Management | 2025 | #16 |
| NIRF | Management | 2024 | #27 |
| NIRF | Management | 2023 | #22 |
| NIRF | Management | 2022 | #18 |
23 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
1-year placement history, latest data from 2025.
6 cutoff records across exams, courses, and categories.
| Year | R | Exam | Course | Category | Gender | Quota | Opening | Closing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | — | CAT | MBA (Master of Business Administration) | General | Gender-Neutral | AI | — | — |
| 2024 | — | CAT | MBA (Master of Business Administration) | OBC | Gender-Neutral | AI | — | — |
| 2024 | — | CAT | MBA (Master of Business Administration) | SC | Gender-Neutral | AI | — | — |
| 2024 | — | CAT | MBA (Master of Business Administration) | ST | Gender-Neutral | AI | — | — |
| 2024 | — | CAT | MBA (Master of Business Administration) | EWS | Gender-Neutral | AI | — | — |
| 2024 | — | CAT | MBA (Master of Business Administration) | PwD | Gender-Neutral | AI | — | — |
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.