
Chaudhary Charan Singh University (CCSU), Meerut, was founded in 1965 as Meerut University and renamed in 1988 after former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh. It is a Uttar Pradesh state statutory university, affiliating a large number of colleges across western Uttar Pradesh, including in Meerut, Ghaziabad, Noida, Greater Noida, Muzaffarnagar, Bulandshahr, Saharanpur, Baghpat, Hapur, and Shamli.
The university holds NAAC A++ accreditation, CGPA 3.66, its third accreditation cycle, awarded around 10 March 2023. It does not appear in NIRF 2025's main University-category top-100 ranking; a rank of 41 in the separate State Public University category is reported by secondary sources but was not independently confirmed on nirfindia.org during this research, so this page does not state that figure as confirmed.
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1965 (as Meerut University); renamed CCSU in 1988 |
| Type | State university, Uttar Pradesh |
| NAAC | A++ (CGPA 3.66, third cycle, awarded around 10 March 2023) |
| NIRF 2025 University | Not in the top-100 list |
| Main campus | Meerut, roughly 221 acres |
| Notable institutes | Sir Chhotu Ram Institute of Engineering & Technology (SCRIET), Institute of Business Studies, Institute of Fine Arts |
| Affiliating districts | Meerut, Ghaziabad, Noida, Greater Noida, Muzaffarnagar, Bulandshahr, Saharanpur, Baghpat, Hapur, Shamli |
| UG, PG admission | University's own Samarth portal, merit-based |
| LLM, MEd, MPEd, BPEd admission | CCSU-conducted entrance test |
CCSU's confirmed named institutes include the Sir Chhotu Ram Institute of Engineering & Technology (SCRIET) under its engineering faculty, the Institute of Business Studies under Commerce & Management, and the Institute of Fine Arts under its Art faculty. A full current list of all faculties and departments could not be compiled from an official source during this research and is not stated here.
Undergraduate and postgraduate admission for most programmes runs through the university's own Samarth portal on a merit basis, having replaced the earlier UPSEE/UPCET-linked routes. LLM, MEd, MPEd, and BPEd admit through a CCSU-conducted entrance test instead. Some postgraduate seats consider national exam scores such as JEE Main, GATE, or CUET-PG where applicable to specific programmes.
| Route | Programmes |
|---|---|
| Samarth portal, merit-based | Most UG and PG programmes |
| CCSU-conducted entrance test | LLM, MEd, MPEd, BPEd |
| National exam scores, where applicable | Select postgraduate programmes |
For the 2026-27 cycle, original application registration on the Samarth portal closed 15 June 2026, but the admission process has since moved into merit-list rounds. A Revised-2 schedule issued 2 August 2026 set the First Merit List admission window for 17-19 August 2026, with three to four merit lists expected in total. Admission is not closed as of this writing.
Chaudhary Charan Singh University does not appear in NIRF 2025's main University-category top-100 ranking, confirmed directly against nirfindia.org. A rank of 41 in the separate State Public University category is reported by secondary sources but was not independently confirmed on nirfindia.org during this research, so this page does not state that figure as confirmed. It holds NAAC A++ accreditation, CGPA 3.66, its third accreditation cycle, awarded around 10 March 2023.
CCSU's main campus is in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, reported at roughly 221 acres, with facilities including 164 classrooms and 85 laboratories per a secondary infrastructure source not confirmed on the university's own page.
A++, CGPA 3.66, reached in its third accreditation cycle
Serving ten districts across western Uttar Pradesh
Including SCRIET for engineering and technology, alongside institutes for business studies and fine arts
The Samarth portal replaced older UPSEE/UPCET-linked routes for most programmes
Operating continuously since 1965, one of western Uttar Pradesh's established universities
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | State Public University | 2025 | #41 |
No independently verifiable, individually sourced notable alumni could be confirmed for this institution at the time of writing. This section is left out rather than populated with unconfirmed names.
9 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
| Course | Specialization | Duration | Total seats | Total fee | Avg package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | — | 36 months | — | — | — |
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | Hons | 36 months | — | — | — |
| B.Ed (Bachelor of Education) | M.Ed | — | 50 | — | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | Honours (General) | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | — | — |
| BCA (Bachelor of Computer Applications) | — | 36 months | — | — | — |
| M.Com (Master of Commerce) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
| MA (Master of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | — | — |
| MCA (Master of Computer Applications) | — | 24 months | 60 | ₹1.6L | — |
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.