
Bundelkhand University, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, was founded on 26 August 1975 under U.P. Government Notification No. 10/15-60/74, pursuant to the Uttar Pradesh State Universities Act, 1973. It is a separate institution from Maharaja Chhatrasal Bundelkhand University in Chhatarpur, Madhya Pradesh, founded 2015, despite the similar name; the two share no governing body or affiliated colleges. Its campus is on Kanpur Road, Jhansi.
The university holds NAAC A++ accreditation, CGPA 3.53, Fourth Cycle, declared 21 December 2023, confirmed directly against NAAC's own published dataset. It ranked 68th in NIRF 2025 Pharmacy category (score 46.31), confirmed directly against nirfindia.org.
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Founded | 26 August 1975 |
| Type | State university, Uttar Pradesh |
| Location | Kanpur Road, Jhansi 284128 |
| NAAC | A++ (CGPA 3.53, Fourth Cycle, declared 21 December 2023) |
| NIRF 2025 Pharmacy | Rank 68 (score 46.31) |
| Affiliating districts | Jhansi, Lalitpur, Chitrakoot, Banda, Jalaun |
| UG, PG admission | University's own Entrance Test or Direct Admission on merit, depending on programme |
| Some specialisations | Accept CUET, JEE, UGC-NET, or NATA scores |
Bundelkhand University's affiliating network spans colleges across Jhansi, Lalitpur, Chitrakoot, Banda, and Jalaun districts. A full current list of all faculties and institutes could not be confirmed against a live official structure page during this research and is not stated here; the university is known to run named institutes spanning engineering, pharmacy, law, and other disciplines.
Admission for undergraduate and postgraduate programmes runs on a hybrid system the university itself administers: many programmes admit through the university's own Entrance Test, others through Direct Admission on merit, and specific specialisations accept external scores including CUET, JEE, UGC-NET, and NATA. This is not a CUET-only system.
| Route | Programmes |
|---|---|
| University's own Entrance Test | Many UG and PG programmes |
| Direct Admission, merit-based | Other UG and PG programmes |
| CUET, JEE, UGC-NET, or NATA scores | Specific specialisations |
For the 2026-27 cycle, the university's own Entrance Test phase, including admit cards, provisional answer keys, and choice-filling, closed after 9 July 2026. What remains genuinely open as of this writing: general UG/PG registration and confirmation, extended to 20 August 2026, and PhD admissions, which opened 8 August 2026 with applications actively being accepted.
Bundelkhand University ranked 68th in NIRF 2025 Pharmacy category (score 46.31), confirmed directly against nirfindia.org. It holds NAAC A++ accreditation, CGPA 3.53, Fourth Cycle, declared 21 December 2023, confirmed directly against NAAC's own published dataset, correcting a lower "B++" figure and a differing "3.57" CGPA figure both still circulating on secondary sources.
Bundelkhand University's campus is on Kanpur Road, Jhansi 284128, Uttar Pradesh. A commonly cited campus size of 186 acres could not be independently confirmed on an official page during this research, so this page does not state a specific figure.
A++, CGPA 3.53, Fourth Cycle, declared December 2023, verified against NAAC's own published dataset
Rank 68 nationally (score 46.31), verified directly against nirfindia.org
Serving Jhansi, Lalitpur, Chitrakoot, Banda, and Jalaun districts
Combining the university's own entrance test with direct merit-based routes and acceptance of external scores for specific programmes
A dedicated PhD admission window opened in August 2026
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Pharmacy | 2025 | #68 |
No independently verifiable, individually sourced notable alumni could be confirmed for this institution at the time of writing. This section is left out rather than populated with unconfirmed names.
10 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
| Course | Specialization | Duration | Total seats | Total fee | Avg package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9204L | — |
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | Hons | 36 months | — | ₹0.9204L | — |
| B.Sc (Bachelor of Science) | Hotel Management | — | — | — | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.2604L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | Honours (General) | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BCA (Bachelor of Computer Applications) | — | 36 months | — | ₹1.8204L | — |
| M.Com (Master of Commerce) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
| MA (Master of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.1542L | — |
| MCA (Master of Computer Applications) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
| Master of Hotel Management and Catering Technology | — | — | 60 | — | — |
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.