
University of Lucknow, commonly known as Lucknow University, was established in 1920 under its own dedicated statute, the University of Lucknow Act, No. V of 1920, receiving assent that November and beginning teaching in July 1921. Its founding nucleus brought together Canning College, King George's Medical College, and Isabella Thoburn College. The university holds UGC Category-I status, a graded-autonomy designation held by only a small number of Indian universities, and operates as the only state university in Uttar Pradesh to carry it.
The university holds NAAC A++ accreditation, awarded following a peer-team visit in July 2022, making it the first state university in Uttar Pradesh to reach this grade. It ranked 98th in NIRF 2025 University category (score 47.26) and 29th in Law (score 55.85), both confirmed directly against nirfindia.org.
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Established | 1920, University of Lucknow Act, No. V of 1920 |
| Type | State university, Uttar Pradesh |
| UGC status | Category-I, graded autonomy |
| NAAC | A++, awarded July 2022 |
| NIRF 2025 University | Rank 98 (score 47.26) |
| NIRF 2025 Law | Rank 29 (score 55.85) |
| Faculties | 13, per current official listing |
| UG admission | UGET (most programmes), UGPET (BBA/BCA), JEE Main (B.Tech), CUET-UG (B.Pharm) |
| PG admission | PGET (most programmes), CUET-PG (select programmes, mandatory for MCA) |
The University of Lucknow organises its academic offerings across 13 faculties: Agriculture, Arts, Ayurveda, Commerce, Education, Engineering and Technology, Fine Arts, Management Studies, Law, Science, Unani, Yoga and Alternative Medicine, and the Abhinavgupt Institute of Aesthetics and Shaiva Philosophy, each with its own designated Dean per the university's current official listing.
Admission runs through several distinct routes depending on the programme. Most undergraduate programmes, including BA, BSc, BCom, BJMC, and LLB, admit through the university's own Undergraduate Entrance Test (UGET). BBA and BCA admit through a separate Undergraduate Programme Entrance Test (UGPET). B.Tech admits through JEE Main merit, and B.Pharm admits specifically through CUET-UG. Postgraduate admission runs primarily through the university's own Postgraduate Entrance Test (PGET) across more than 80 programmes, with CUET-PG used for select programmes and required specifically for MCA; candidates first generate a university registration number through its admission portal before applying.
| Route | Programmes |
|---|---|
| UGET | Most undergraduate programmes (BA, BSc, BCom, BJMC, LLB, and others) |
| UGPET | BBA, BCA |
| JEE Main | B.Tech |
| CUET-UG | B.Pharm |
| PGET | Most postgraduate programmes |
| CUET-PG | Select postgraduate programmes, mandatory for MCA |
As of this writing, the university's 2026-27 admission cycle is in its closing stage. Its undergraduate notices page, last updated 10 August 2026, shows a seventh seat-allotment round already published. Its postgraduate cycle has likewise reached its merit-list and closing phase. Exact calendar dates for these rounds were not available as directly readable official text at the time of writing and are not stated here.
University of Lucknow ranked 98th in NIRF 2025 University category (score 47.26) and 29th in Law (score 55.85), both confirmed directly against nirfindia.org. It holds NAAC A++ accreditation, awarded following a July 2022 peer-team visit, the first such grade among Uttar Pradesh's state universities.
The University of Lucknow's main campus is located in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. An exact, independently confirmed campus structure and acreage figure could not be verified from an official source at the time of writing and is not stated here.
A distinction held among Uttar Pradesh's state universities
The only state university in Uttar Pradesh to hold this graded-autonomy designation
Ranked 29th in NIRF 2025 Law
Founded in 1920 on the nucleus of three established colleges, including the historic Canning College
13 faculties spanning Arts, Science, Commerce, Law, Engineering and Technology, Ayurveda, and Unani medicine, among others
| Framework | Category | Year | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | State Public University | 2025 | #27 |
| NIRF | Law | 2025 | #29 |
| NIRF | Architecture | 2025 | #39 |
| NIRF | University | 2025 | #98 |
| NIRF | Management | 2025 | #100 |
No independently verifiable, individually sourced notable alumni could be confirmed for this institution at the time of writing. This section is left out rather than populated with unconfirmed names.
9 courses offered. Fees in INR lakhs.
| Course | Specialization | Duration | Total seats | Total fee | Avg package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce) | Hons | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BA (Bachelor of Arts) | Honours (General) | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| BCA (Bachelor of Computer Applications) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| M.Com (Master of Commerce) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
| MA (Master of Arts) | — | 36 months | — | ₹0.9L | — |
| MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) | — | — | 250 | — | — |
| MCA (Master of Computer Applications) | — | 24 months | — | ₹1.6L | — |
Campus size, faculty strength, hostel facilities, and academic infrastructure.